South America Guide 

Where were you born and where did you grow up?
I was born in Lima, a big city in comparison where I live now. When I was 15 years old I left home hitchhiking to the south of Peru. I just felt in love with what i was discovering, coming from a big city I had no idea of our mountains, of the Andes, I didn’t know there were people living so far in the middle of nowhere. I just fell in love with traveling and even more of Peru and the Andes. After 5 years I moved to Cusco, where I lived for several years and now I live in the Sacred Valley.

What are your hobbies?
I love travelling with my kids, I think my hobby now is to spend time with them outdoors, rock climbing, hiking, or just camping in the most desolate beach.

Do you have any special talents?
I think i am good at being relaxed no matter what, I could say I am a good hiker, or very good working at high altitude but I think what I do better is being relaxed in the most difficult situations.

What has been your greatest outdoor adventure?
Climbing 2 picks with more than 20 climbing women. We have climbed Pisco and Vayunaraju glaciers, it was just a dream to be so high up surrounded by just glaciers. It was hard to wake up at night and walk for more than 14 hours in the freezing cold. But I think the adventure here was to be only with women.

What did you do before you became a guide?
I travelled and I didn’t loose time I went straight to guiding at 20 years old in Manu National Park, the jungle of Cusco. Then I started hiking for work, I could hike 3 weeks nonstop. Now I have 15 years guiding and I still love travelling and being the one who takes care of my folks.

Describe a life experience that has shaped you today?
Again, my kids, I know it doesn’t sound that exiting, but teaching them what I love and watching how much they have learnt transforms my life. I am proud of their skills in the woods and as good humans, and I think we have learnt a lot from travelling and spending time outside.